Our passion

Our passion
Deep deep pow in Austria
Deep deep pow in Austria

I’ve been blogging for the Dutch wePowder website for a couple of years now, and will start to blog in English now as well. To introduce myself a little, I’ll tell you a bit about my history and what it’s like to be chasing snow for a Dutch guy. Coming from a country with absolutely no mountains at all, it can be kind of challenging to pursue your dream of living in the mountains. Although it’s been a struggle sometimes, that’s exactly what I’ve been doing for the past 5 years. And I hope to do so many more.

It all started about 5 years ago in 2008. I had just started university but soon after I had started I figured the education I picked just wasn’t for me. I dropped out and started looking for something useful to do until the start of the following school year. It was just before winter and I had already been thinking about spending a winter in the Austrian Alps, even before I had started university. After reading into the possibilities I decided to go and work as a ski instructor in Austria for one season. At first I applied as a snowboard instructor, but non of the ski schools needed anymore board instructors. They all asked for ski instructors. And so I took a job in Ischgl, as a ski instructor. Only for one season only though, because one gap year was more than enough I figured.

When I first arrived in St. Anton to do my ski instructor course at the age of 17, I had no clue what I was getting myself into. My mom dropped me off at my hotel room, said goodbye and went back home. Back then, I still thought it would only be for that one season and looking back, that’s only a good thing I think. I would have most likely backed out of it if I would have known then what was coming for me. Don’t get me wrong; I absolutely loved the journey I’ve been on for the last 5 years. But I’ve been so incredibly lucky along the way, that I would have never thought I could pull it off all by myself.