Riders of the Swatch Skiers Cup announced

By Arjen on 5 December 2014 · 1

From 21 to 27 February, the fifth edition of the Swatch Skiers Cup takes place in the Swiss resort of Zermatt. The contest was conceived by Kaj Zachrisson and Lille Sverre Quist and I personally find it one of the best freeride contests of the season. The idea is simple: Europe against America. In a combination of freeride, freestyle and mainly team spirit.

The European riders

Julien Regnier is the captain of Team Europe this year and he has invited the following riders:

*Richard Permin (FRA)

*Markus Eder (ITA)

*Sverre Lillequist (SWE)

*Sven Kueenle (GER)

*Fabien Maierhofer (FRA)

*Sam Favret (FRA)

*Fabio Studer (AT)

*Samuel Anthamatten (SUI)

The American riders

Captain of Team America is the legendary Seth Morrison. The following riders are part of Team America:

*Sage Cattabriga-Alosa (USA)

*Callum Pettit (CAN)

*Cody Townsend (USA)

*Rory Bushfield (CAN)

*Dana Flahr (CAN)

*Andy Mahre (CAN)

*Logan Pehota (CAN)

*Tanner Rainville (USA)

The question is: who is this year most likely to bring the Cup home? Personally, I think it will be a close call. It seems that the big mountain qualities of Team Europe are just in their favour, but that the Americans equalize that on the BC Freestyle part. Anyway it will probably be a great event again!


  • KlasRydstrand
    KlasRydstrand op 7 December 2014 · 14:45
    Sorry, but his name is 'Sverre Liliequist' and not 'Lille Sverre Quist' 😃


You need to be logged in to post a comment in this topic. Login or create an account.

Upgrade to wepowder Pro

  • Extended 14 day forecast
  • Slope angle and exposition terrain layers
  • Inspirational freeride routes
wePowder Pro