Mountaineering equipment for freeride on glaciers

• TatazouLele
    TatazouLele op 29 November 2016 · 12:44
    Hey,

I have all the classic equipment for freeriding: beacon, shovel, probe, airbag, helmet (no back protection, it keeps me too warm).

It never happened to me, but I know that when you're on a glacier you can come across a snow bridge over a crevasse and fall in. Most of the videos I've seen about that (YouTube) showed that people are not harmed. (Maybe when they do or when they die, they don't dare publishing the footage, understandably, so I don't really know the odds here).

Anyway, if it ever happens to me, I figured that having a harness could be pretty useful. So I think I'll go for the Mammut Zenith Altitude, which should be OK to wear long with my ABS backpack waistband.

But I'm also wondering if I should get an ice pickaxe, ice screws and a rope. I have no experience in climbing or mountaineering, so even if I have a vague idea how to use them, like preventing me from falling further down. I don't really know which one to get (I would favor something on the light side, only for emergency use).

What do you guys think?
    Thanks!
    -ttz
  • Matteo_DG
    Expert
    Matteo_DG op 30 November 2016 · 12:00
    First: freeride on a glaciers = high alpine risks
    Not only crenvass, but also weather (in case of storm the temperature drops very fast), orientation (in case of fog and "white out" find your way is challenging without map/compass/GPS), far from rescue point and often without phone signal, ...

So if you are talking about freeriding routes far from the groomed slopes a complete mountaineering formation/training is essential. Of course this will involve also rope operations, the use of the ice axle, of the harness and so on...

This is a couple of example of freeriding in a challenging terrain requiring complete mountaineering skills:
    http://www.skiweekend.com/sidecutandrocker/schwartztor-porta-nera/...