Buying my first freeride skis

• mursel
    mursel op 23 November 2021 · 14:48
    Hi there,

I am a beginner in freeride skiing. I have about 15 days of skiing per season and I have been skiing for about 8 years. It’s mostly skiing on-piste. I am interested because currently in Bosnia I can only buy Sky 7 (164cm and 180cm) and Soul 7 (172cm), what do you recommend for me as a beginner? Due to the prices of customs and VAT on imports, at the moment I only have the option I mentioned from Rossignol in my country.

I am 177cm tall and weigh 90kg.

BR,

Mursel
  • lukaŠkvarč
    Advanced
    lukaŠkvarč op 24 November 2021 · 02:40
    Hi Mursel,
    Freeride skis length should be > skiers height. I'd pick sky 7 in 180cm if I were you, purely based on ski length.
    Cheers to Bosna

• mursel
    mursel op 30 November 2021 · 23:40
    Hi lukaŠkvarč,

Tnx a lot for your suggestion. I'll definitely take a look at some of the skis I founded on net (faction prodigy series or atomic punx seven).

Greetz!
  • llugsouthmoravia
    Beginner
    llugsouthmoravia op 2 October 2022 · 12:51
    ahoj Mursel , řekni prosím dobré středisko v Bosně kromě Jahorina a Bjelasnica

děkuji a na zdraví llug
  • JanLoeffler
    Tourist
    JanLoeffler op 16 January 2023 · 15:54
    Hi.

In case it's still relevant to you, I bought my pair of touring/off-piste skis with a huge discount because I bought the previous season's model in 2018, the Rossignol Sky 7HD (16/17 season). Compared with the following model, virtually nothing had changed.

What's important is the ski's dimensions as that will determine its radius, whilst the under-foot width and tip width will determine how well it floats. The ski's construction determines how well it handles on hard snow, and my ski has a wood core with additional carbon fibre mixed in to increase torsional rigidity.

Before any of that fancy marketing stuff really matters to you, you'll have to be a professional or semi-professional skier.